Skip to main content

Imagine A Country: National Event 2022

NEWS | 4th February 2022

We’re delighted to announce the annual Community Justice Scotland national event 2022

Imagine A Country shares its title with the book compiled and edited by Val McDermid and Professor Jo Sharp which collates ideas, dreams and ambitions for a better Scotland for all.

Event host Byron Vincent will be exploring visions for a better Scotland with creative minds Val McDermid, Lemn Sissay OBE, Professor Jo Sharp and Ely Percy.

They will discuss the experiences that inspired their books and how we can all affect positive change in society.

17 March 2022, 3-4:30pm


Val McDermid is a number one bestselling author, whose novels have sold over sixteen million copies. Val comes from Kirkcaldy, Fife, and read English at St Hilda’s College, Oxford. Following graduation she became a journalist, and worked briefly as a dramatist.

Lemn Sissay OBE is a poet playwright, memoirist performer and broadcaster. Lemn’s Sunday Times Bestselling memoir My Name is Why reflects on growing up in care and finding hope, determination and creativity.

Byron Vincent is a neuro-diverse writer, performer, broadcaster and activist with a long and varied career. Byron is a passionate social activist with lived experience of issues around poverty and mental health.

Professor Jo Sharp is a Professor of Geography at the University of St Andrews. Jo is a feminist political geographer with varied research interests including postcolonialism, health, and critical geopolitics.

Ely Percy is an award-winning Scottish writer best known for their novel Duck Feet which won the Saltire Society’s Book Of The Year in 2021. They’re also the author of Cracked and Vicky Romeo Plus Joolz .

Community Justice Scotland organises a national event each year to cover a range of themes. Influential and inspiring speakers in the past have included Sir Harry Burns, Father Gregory Boyle, people with real life experience of the justice world, Dr Dance, Robert Nilsson, Dr Kitty Stewart, Jason Leitch, Roza Salih and Mary Hepburn.